Monday, October 14, 2013

Kyla's Maternity Photo Celebrations

My favorite body type is the pregnant body type. I love to photograph pregnant women and I love my body shape most when I am pregnant. I know a lot of women who struggle with their quickly changing figures while preggers, not I. Here are the top 3 reasons why I love my pregnant body:

1. Curvy, curvy curves!!! Voluminous was a descriptive word my husband used when we were pregnant with our first born, Odin. It's direct meaning: Having great volume, fullness, size. To me it meant sexy and full of life, which felt amazing.
2. Purpose. Growing a life inside your body is truly magical. The fact that a woman's body can change so much in such a short period of time is miraculous to me.
3. There is no need to suck in your tummy. Once I became aware of my own body image (some point in my teens) I was always overly conscious of sucking in my tummy. The only time in my life that I didn't have a bit extra in the belly area was after a 23 day Outward bound course where we hiked 6 to 10 hours a day. So, I guess if I wanted to maintain that semi-six pack I would have had to maintain that lifestyle. Not so much on the cards for me, so to not feel the need to suck in... heavenly!

Loving my pregnant body is awesome, but I haven't completely overcome the body image issues that come up for me after pregnancy. Even knowing what I do about body image, trying to embrace and maintain a positive attitude after the dramatic changes my body endures after giving birth is a challenge for me. I have affectionately named my stretch marks my "Odin tattoos," which the baby in my belly now has added too. I don't mind them so much because they are the proof that my kiddos came from me. Prior to being pregnant with baby #2, Odin would play with my belly like it was play dough, because it was soft and squishy and fun to play with... I guess. My Odin tattoos look a bit like a brain once they are no longer being stretched by a baby from the inside. It is what it is, but it doesn't feel pretty. Even though I am proud of my Odin tattoos, I likely won't be rocking a bikini after this baby either. With that said it doesn't change the way salt water feels on my skin, so I am grateful for that. There are a few other issues that I would like to embrace, mostly having to do with the continued sacrifice made when breast feeding and va-jj issues. Don't worry I will spare you the details here. As I am writing this I am remembering that the rewards are so much greater than the sacrifices. There is nothing more tender then nursing an infant or watching my toddler thrive. I would think I will own the fact that I contributed to that. I did good and I am grateful to my body for what it has given to get us all to where we are now. Yes, I believe we can consider all of this baby making/growing/body changing stuff a miracle. Wow, pretty powerful!

Thank you to my patient and ever-giving sister, Wesley, for taking these photos (except for the ones she is in). Thank you to Christina Knickerbocker of Paint the Dog Productions for giving up part of her Saturday to add my maternity shoot to the footage for our film ExposurSELF (a little follow up piece.) I purposely included a couple nudes/semi-nude images in this series since I often post nudes of our trusting and beautiful clients. A giant thanks to the rest of my family and friends for joining in on the festivities to celebrate Baby Jenkinson #2.

*These events were a few weeks apart. ;)




























15 comments:

  1. Love you, dear Kyla (and Wes, and Christina). So glad the Photo Divine journey continues -- and that Ky can share her story too. The smile in your nude photo makes me SMILE.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Kyla - these are such amazing pictures - and I love your honest writing about your body - totally true! But you found the words to explain - looking amazing :-) Brenda xxx

    ReplyDelete
  3. LOVE your photos!! If you ever plan to do an art show on this subject (womens REAL bodies!) - I have twins (gorgeous daughters who are now almost 12) and would be happy to donate my body to the project!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Kyla - so glad I came across these. Stunning and I love your happy GLOW!

    ReplyDelete
  5. GORGEOUS! love the black and white nudey shot! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Beautiful photos of you, Kyla! Love them ALL & how glowing and radiant you are. Pregnancy looks fabulous on you!

    ReplyDelete
  7. LOVE these!! You are such a beautiful mama and I feel so privileged that we get to raise our toddlers and bring new babies into the world at the same time as each other.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Truly lovely :) just like your heart!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Outlet http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete